Week 7: I am me. I am you. We are me. Who am I?

  1. I am.
  2. I am a student.
  3. I am an ARTS2090 student.
  4. I am a smart phone owner.
  5. I am participating on social media.
  6. I am a Facebook user.
  7. I am sharing personal content on Facebook.
  8. I am tagged on party photos on Facebook.
  9. I am sharing current moods and emotions on Facebook.
  10. I am also a physiotherapist in Germany.
  11. I am and always have been aware of the need to distinguish my professional life from my personal life.
  12. I am therefore using a different name on Facebook.
  13. I am hiding my real identity from my Facebook appearance.
  14. I am aware that that’s against Mr Zuckerberg’s regulations.
  15. I am also aware that I am not the only one who is doing that.
  16. I am not sure if it is true that I am thus part of what Ben Grosser (2014) claims to be the increasingly homogenised Facebook community.
  17. I am thinking that there are still a lot of different profile types on Facebook, which are varying from business sites to overly transparent sites of some highly self-expressive individuals, to fake profiles and to people like me.
  18. I am asking myself if that’s really homogenised.
  19. I am not sure.
  20. I am afraid though that I become unconsciously a victim of Facebook news feed algorithm manipulation.
  21. I am hooked by Mr “Codingconduct’s” (tumblr name) (2014) thought about what happens if politician’s start to pay Facebook to manipulate our Facebook algorithms to favour them.
  22. I am uncertain if I should be afraid of such probable actions or if Mr “Codingconduct” has just emotionally manipulated me?
  23. I am sure that manipulation only works if the manipulator shares common worldviews and beliefs with the manipulated.
  24. I am sure that only then justificatory support for the manipulator’s central claim succeeds.
  25. I am thus aware that Mr “Codingconduct’s” concern only concerns me because we share the same worry and expectation of Facebook.
  26. I am aware that I only see a third of my actual Facebook news feed, as evaluated by Mr Herrera (2014).
  27. I am sure that someone else has thought about what to select of my Facebook news for me to be seen.
  28. I am a passive consumer of my own content.
  29. I am deciding which part of the news feed is interesting for me.
  30. I am informed that research puts much effort in finding out what my worldviews and beliefs are to aim to purposely lead my emotions into a certain direction to gain economic or even political benefits from it.
  31. I am nevertheless aware that I am an individual and have my own brain.
  32. I am able to defend myself against manipulation.
  33. I am agreeing with Mr Gillespie when he concludes with “I think these represent a deeper discomfort about an information environment where the content is ours but the selection is theirs.” (Gillespie, 2014)
  34. I am thus even more motivated to increase self-reflection to not become a victim of someone else’s decision to influence my emotions and thought.
  35. I am an individual.
  36. I am not passive.
  37. I am.

References:

Leave a Reply

